Clare In The Cheap Seats

Follow Me Around The World Of Art

The Rest Of 2014.

on January 2, 2015

Right, I have been ever so busy these past few months so I have lots to tell you about.

ROH

Firstly I start with something that really put a dampener on my Art viewing schedule. Cineplex pulled the plug on screening Royal Opera House performances in September. I was so looking forward to watching Alice in Wonderland in December / January. Sadly I have not been able to find another local cinema (nearest is 100 miles away) hosting RoH performances so I have missed out on Alice and the gang.

SB

Another reason for my disappointment with Cineplex is their rewards card; each time I go to their cinema I collect points towards free tickets. A strange thing happened with this scheme in September. I had collected enough points for a free ticket so I booked myself a ballet as the ticket costs the same amount of points as a normal film but costs $8 more. Off I went to the screening and 10 minutes into the performance I find myself thinking “I’ve seen this before” I was watching Matthew Bourne’s Sleeping Beauty and afterwards when I checked my diary I saw that I had indeed watched Sleeping Beauty (traditional) back in April and that too was a free ticket! As with the performance in April I found this one to be a fantastic adaptation of the fairytale, though I am more a fan of the traditional setting.

Medea

My next visit to the cinema was to watch Medea. Someone I know was lucky enough to go and watch this play live. He raved about it so much that I looked it up online and thought it something worth watching and I was not wrong. Like Othello that I watched earlier in the year, the play is given a modern setting. The torment and abandonment is plain to see and everyone involved made this a very successful trip to the cinema.

Paquita

From the cinema I went to the live stage for a visit from the Paris Opera Ballet (a company I once saw live in Paris). This production was 15 years in the making (from the programme notes) and their performance of Paquita was well worth the wait. The costumes were gorgeous and the dancing as I expected from such a talented company. At first I hesitated about buying a ticket as they were pricey but I certainly made the correct decision and my money was well spent.

Kafka

A complete contrast followed, I went from one of the most famous ballets in the world to a performance by an ape. Mind you it was Kafka’s Ape. This Infinite Theatre production was a very cleaver adaptation of the famous 1917 Report To The Academy. The twist in this play was to show how an animal gained humanity and humans become an animal via military corporations only concerned about profit not people. The night ended on a somewhat funny note, it was my first experience street parking in downtown Montreal and I got a parking ticket for entering the wrong bay number. Thankfully the rip-off $53 charge was dismissed on appeal.  that meant I had more money for the Arts.

To Be Continued…

One response to “The Rest Of 2014.

  1. […] Sadly this comment that still rings true with a lot of people today (this film is from the 60’s). War and killing is big business and there is always someone wanting to profit. This reminded of a play I watched last year, to see what that was please click here […]

Leave a Reply

